REVIEWS AND AWARDS

 
 

A KILLING AT COTTON HILL

Winner of Macavity Award for Best First Novel

 

AWARD NOMINATIONS

  • Left Coast Crime award for Best Novel

  • Strand Critics' Award

 

REVIEWS

"Readers will want to see more of the likable main character, who compassionately but relentlessly sifts the evidence. Convincing small town atmosphere and a vivid supporting cast are a plus."

- Publisher's Weekly (July 2013)

 

"Shames' novel is an amazing read. The poetic, literary quality of the writing draws you into a small town and its interesting, secret-carrying residents

- RT Book Reviews (August 2013) - 4 Stars


THE LAST DEATH OF JACK HARBIN

 

AWARD NOMINATIONS

  • Macavity Award for Best Novel

 

REVIEWS

 "A methodical thinker with his own dark side, Craddock once again wins the reader over en route to a satisfying conclusion."

- Publisher's Weekly

 

"Craddock emerged in his detecting role a year ago in Terry Shames’s first crime novel, A Killing at Cotton Hill, and with the new book, Shames clinches Craddock’s status as the most engaging new American sleuth in crime fiction."    

- Toronto Star

 

"Shames's sophomore series entry highlights her comfortable storytelling style. The lead's folksy tone belies astute detecting, and the plotting will dazzle readers. Consider for fans of Margaret Maron, Steven Havill, and Bill Crider - all "regional" writers with universal appeal." 

- Library Journal - Starred Review (December 2013)


DEAD BROKE IN JARRETT CREEK

 

REVIEWS

“….Shames’s solid third mystery.  Craddock is forced to rely more on his insight…than on forensics. But like a good shade tree mechanic, he gets the job done."

- Publisher's Weekly

 

Samuel Craddock reminds of Walt Longmire, the fictional sheriff I greatly admire…Terry Shames has a flair for making her Texas townspeople real and vibrant.

- Marilyn’s Mystery Reads, 2014

(Craddock’s) easygoing manner hides a clever detective who logically builds an investigation…”

- RT Review 4 1/2stars


A DEADLY AFFAIR AT BOBTAIL RIDGE

 

REVIEWS

“You can feel the Texas wind blow and the dirt dust up beneath your feet as Shames delivers another solid installment in the Samuel Craddock series. The mystery flows seamlessly in Craddock’s capable hands as each new clue leads to more shocking revelations. The characters add authenticity and texture as decent, hard-working citizens intermingle with those who skirt the edges of the law"

- RT Book Reviews (April 2015) - 4 1/2 Stars

 

“Shames wonderfully evokes small-town Texas life and Samuel is a slow-talking but certainly not slow-witted hero squarely in the Walt Longmire vein. This emotional fourth installment (after Dead Broke in Jarrett Creek) from the Macavity Award winner will surely satisfy series fans.”

- Library Journal (March 1st, 2015)


The Necessary Murder of NonIe BlakE

Winner of RT Reviews Reviewer’s Choice Award for Best Contemporary Novel

 

AWARD NOMINATIONS

  • Lefty Award for Best Novel of 2016

 

REVIEWS

“Shames once again enchants with her portrayal of life in rural Texas. Each character has a unique personality that remains in the mind of the reader long after the book is closed. The stunning conclusion will surprise most as Shames deftly weaves her tale.”

- RT Book Reviews, ****1/2  TOP PICK, FANTASTIC—Keeper, January 2016

 

 “Once again Shames's mystery engages the reader with well-developed characters and an ingenious plot.”

- Library Journal

 


AN UNSETTLING CRIME FOR SAMUEL CRADDOCK

Award Nomination

  • Left Coast Crime Award for Best Novel of 2017

REVIEWS

“A favorite of fans who like their police procedurals with a strong ethical center, Shames provides the back story of a Southern cop caught between his job and his culture.”

- Kirkus Reviews

 

“Shames’s superior sixth Samuel Craddock mystery...a prequel set possibly during the early 1970s, explores a significant case at the start of the retired police chief’s career. Skilled depictions of the lawman’s formative choices and emotions enhance a timely story with resonance in the era of Black Lives Matter.”

- Publishers Weekly (October 31, 2016) - Starred Review

From "The Very Best Crime Fiction Set in the Lone Star State" --  a list that includes Cormac McCarthy, Attica Locke, James Lee Burke, Joe Landsdale, and six more

"Terry Shames captures that setting wonderfully throughout her Macavity Award-winning series starring retired Police Chief Samuel Craddock. In her sixth novel, she provides readers with a special treat: an outstanding origin story for her likable hero." 

- CrimeFictionLover.com

 


A RECKONING IN THE BACK COUNTRY

Award Nomination

  • Left Coast Crime Award for Best Novel of 2017

REVIEWS

“A favorite of fans who like their police procedurals with a strong ethical center, Shames provides the back story of a Southern cop caught between his job and his culture.”

- Kirkus Reviews

"Terry Shames deserves every award she has earned for this deftly-plotted, always thoughtful mystery series. Craddock has the dry wit and sardonic outlook of an experienced lawman, yet he is never so jaded as to be unmoved by tragedy or sacrifice. Every character comes to life within these novels, with their witty dialogue humorous not because of outright jokes but because of life’s absurdities. This is a series that should always be at the top of one’s To Be Read list."

- Kings River Life, August, 2018


A RISKY UNDERTAKING FOR LORETTA SINGLETARY

REVIEWS

As often happens in Shames’ work, the evil is found to originate in the bitterness of blighted lives, and here the finale is as touching as it is violent. Craddock is a slightly more cerebral version of the late Bill Crider’s rural sheriff Dan Rhodes, but they share a bloodline.

- Booklist, 2018

A surprise ending makes this entry one of Shames' best in an enjoyable series that raises small-town problems and their solutions to an art form.

- Kirkus Reviews